Friday, October 07, 2005

Nobel Peace Prize

The U.N. nuclear watchdog and its head, Mohamed ElBaradei, win the 2005 Nobel Peace Prize for their efforts to limit the spread of atomic weapons. The Norwegian Nobel Committee picked the International Atomic Energy Agency and ElBaradei from a record field of candidates.

Before you dismiss this as a bad joke, take a look at some of the previous winners:

2002 Jimmy Carter

2001 United Nations, Kofi Annan

1994 Yasser Arafat, Shimon Peres

1988 United Nations Peacekeeping Forces

You cannot accuse the Norwegians of being inconsistent.

, ,


Fausta said...

I call it the Norwegian Badge of Uselessness

marlow said...

Sounds good! It will stick (NBU)